What’s the Opposite of Collateral Damage?

When I was contemplating giving up drinking forever, one of the things that kept me from taking the leap was the notion that it would change my relationship with my husband. And not for the better. We both loved good wine, craft beers, and the ritual of making drinks together. I really wondered and worried over how we would reinvent our relationship as regards booze.

Fast forward 123 days…. Not only have we saved a bucket of money, realized we still really LIKE each other, much less love each other, but my husband drinks much less than he used to. I was a really bad influence on him, I think.

The farther I get away from my life as a drinker, the more clearly I see that I was headed toward real trouble with alcohol. My consumption had steadily crept up through the years, and it had become waaaayyyy too integral to my day-to-day life. I remember reading an interview with Mary Tyler Moore (who also gave up the drink in middle age) and when asked why, she said something to the effect of, “I realized that alcohol had become far too important to me”. That really made an impact on me and was filed away mentally to mull over later.

Another thing I see clearly is that my husband is what we call a “normie”, in the sobriety blogs. He can have a beer – ONE BEER – and be done with booze for the day. Who does that???? What’s the point of ONE???

See what I mean? I am so glad I got off the elevator before it got all the way to the basement.

Before I stopped, all I could see were the negative aspects of not drinking. I would never have dreamed of all the blessings it would bring.

2 thoughts on “What’s the Opposite of Collateral Damage?

  1. I can relate so much to this post. I’m only on day 21, but already I’m seeing just how much is better without booze. I’m excited about all the money savings too. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Day 21 | i wonder what will happen

Leave a Reply

