Gratitude: it’s what’s for dinner!

Silly name for a blog post, but I’m feeling particularly thankful and happy today. Sobriety has become my new normal; just got back from another romantic little overnight trip with the Hubs. Another successful sober getaway under my belt.

And speaking of gratitude, here’s another thing that happened recently that is so unbelievably lucky, I had to share it with you…

My husband marks our milestone wedding anniversaries with a lovely piece of ‘bling’ for me. For our 30th anniversary five years ago, he gave me a gorgeous ring studded with several channel-set diamonds. I love it and never take it off. I should also note that I can’t be trusted with nice things: if something can be accomplished effectively at 5 mph, I just can’t do it that slowly. I’m hard-wired to go at least 55. Consequently, I tend to damage/chip/ break anything unfortunate enough to cross my path.

So, a few weekends ago, I decide to have all the kids and grandchildren over for homemade sauce and meatballs. I get the sauce on and proceed to clean the house. After I dust, scrub, vacuum like a woman possessed, I notice that one of the diamonds in my beloved ring is missing. I. Am. Heartsick.

So, lapsed Catholic that I am, I throw a little prayer up to Saint Anthony (patron saint of lost objects). And then I let it go, because I figure that stone is looooong gone. I mean, what are the chances I’ll ever find it again? I figured that it must have been vacuumed up or something, right?

Well, the next morning, I was emptying the dishwasher. I slid the Keurig out of the way to make more room on the counter for coffee mugs. And – lo and behold – what to my wondering eyes should appear – there was the diamond from my ring!!!

I very carefully put it away and plan to have the ring repaired soon…. And I promise, I’ll be much more careful with it – I really will.

So, friends, I have no idea what any of this means. But I kind of feel like it might be a little pat on the back from the Universe.  A sort of, “You go, girl!”, from the Powers That Be….?

‘Cause this past six months ain’t been easy.
But so worth it.

3 thoughts on “Gratitude: it’s what’s for dinner!

Leave a Reply

