Just What I Needed

Sometimes the universe gives you just a little “snap on the snout” to get your attention…. Today I got the message, loud and clear.

It has been a completely hellacious winter here. Shoveling to be able to get out of the driveway, taking our lives into our own hands to pull out of the driveway because the snow piles at the curb were so high, and shoveling to get back IN the driveway at the end of the work day…. more times than I care to count this winter. Now, I HATE hot weather. I’d rather be inside, reading a book in the air conditioning, thankyouverymuch.

But this morning, 215 days sober, I was thinking about spring. And summer. And how nice it would be to sit outside with an ice cold beer or a chilled glass of pinot grigio, my summertime fave… And I had just sent my daily email to Belle since I’m doing her 365 day challenge. And I had said as much to her.

Then I headed off to do some grocery shopping. As I was driving down the road, I noticed a kind of beaten-up truck in front of me. There was a rather large decal on the window directly behind the driver’s head. It said, “In Memory of my son, David.” And it listed the dates of his son’s birth and death. So sad…. he was only 13. But what made me REALLY sit up and take notice was that the day his son passed away was also the day of my last drink.

Here I was, feeling sorry for myself because I can’t have a fucking glass of wine on my deck and how am I going to get through a summer without drinking. Meanwhile, this poor man lost his son. How’s THAT for perspective?

And just in case I wasn’t paying attention, on my way home I turned on the radio, which I rarely do. I heard two songs: Chandelier by Sia, and Comfortably Numb by Pink Floyd. Back to back.

If I ever wavered for a moment about my decision to stop drinking, this little episode helped re-frame and re-focus me.

Unbelievable. All I can say is, “Thanks, Universe. Message received, loud and clear.”

5 thoughts on “Just What I Needed

  1. I love “messages” like that.
    I know what you mean about summer coming up and not including alcohol into the mix. I have had the same thought several times.
    It’s crazy how alcohol is such a part of so many occasions.
    My husband is gone for the weekend and typically this “occasion” would have been a good excuse to indulge in early evenings on the couch watching a chick flick and drinking wine.

    I am a month behind you. I will be 6 months Alcohol Free on Monday and am so thankful for your posts. I find great strength and enjoyment from reading them. I find it remarkable how similar most of our stories are when it comes to women and their wine. I am so glad to be a woman without wine these days and hope to remain this way forever. It just feels better.

    -Kari

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m very happy you didn’t waver. Sometimes a little perspective is all anyone needs. If you ask me, someone or something was definitely sending a message.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

