The Gift of… Pie

Before I quit drinking, I never – and I mean NEVER – ate desserts. Cookie? No thanks, I’m good. Cake? Looks great, but I’m full. Brownie? Naw. Just doesn’t appeal.

Because sweets don’t really complement martinis. And I needed to save my calories for drinks, people!

But in the past eight months, I’ve indulged in so many home made treats: like chocolate chip cookies made with 4 big handfuls of corn flakes thrown in. You should try this – they’re incredible. And use butter! Not margarine – I hate that shit. Oh, and macaroons – topped with dark chocolate and covered with buttered, salted, toasted almonds. And peanut butter pie. And my new old favorite, my mother’s apple pie. I’ve eaten more pie in the last eight months than I’ve probably eaten in the past fifteen years.  There’s really nothing that I deny myself any more.

And I’m down almost ten pounds.  Without trying.  How awesome is that??!

Here’s the apple pie recipe.  If you try it, please let me know what you think!

Jane’s Apple Pie

3 Golden Delicious Apples, peeled, halved, and cored

1 Ready to bake pie crust, arranged in pie plate (I buy the ones you unroll and shape yourself)

Topping:

1 stick butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1/3 cup flour, rounded

1 tsp. vanilla

Preheat oven to 350.  Place pie crust (in pie plate) on cookie sheet.  Arrange apple halves in crust.  Cream butter and sugar.  Add egg and vanilla and mix well.  Add flour and stir to combine. Mound topping in center of pie.  Bake for 1/2 hour.  Remove from oven and shield crust with foil.  Bake for another hour, or until topping is nicely browned. Serve cold or at room temperature.

I slice it while it’s still warm but like to serve it cold.  The topping forms something like a cross between a chewy cookie and caramel.  It’s so good!

IMG_0412

9 thoughts on “The Gift of… Pie

  1. “…And use butter! Not margarine – I hate that shit”

    Normally Im an not into reading peoples online recepies – and I still hate that shit. But damn You make me laugh.

    Thanks for sharing all that positive energy 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh! I have never made an apple pie like this! I will definitely try out your recipe. I also agree on the team butter. Really margarine is crap. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

