A Few Thoughts on Drinko de Mayo

Just wanted to share a few random thoughts that have been rattling around in my brain…

So last weekend I’m watching TV and there’s a commercial about celebrating Cinco de Mayo (which is, in my opinion, is nothing more than May’s excuse to get shitfaced, much like St. Patrick’s Day in March.) It’s a combined commercial for some brand of tequila and Corona – and the message is that you absolutely have to include alcohol to have a good time. So annoying. Give me some good guacamole, queso, and chips – and I’m a very happy girl.  No booze required.

So then last week I went out to dinner with some girlfriends.  There’s this wonderful Italian restaurant we like to go to: “Ole Blue Eyes” croons in the background, tons of black-and-white photos of New York City and the Rat Pack on the walls…  Anyway.  I’m enjoying my decaf, looking around, and notice this quote by Frank Sinatra, in a frame on the wall near our table.  It says, “I feel sorry for people who don’t drink.  When they wake up in the morning, that’s as good as they’re going to feel all day.”

Huh.  I would have agreed with him, 265 days ago. I felt sorry for poor suckers who didn’t drink – they did NOT know what they were missing!

But I have to vigorously, fundamentally, emphatically disagree with him, after nearly nine months – NINE EFFING MONTHS, KIDS!!!  I feel good in the morning, sure – but the time of day that I generally feel the best is when I crawl into bed at night, super proud of myself and totally stoked to read for a little bit before I turn off the lights. In the old days I’d quite often have a drink on the nightstand and to be honest, didn’t retain too much of what I’d read…. And typically, I’d be feeling disappointed in myself for drinking more than I meant to/should have/wanted to.

So Frank can suck it, as far as I’m concerned.  Sober is SO much better.

5 thoughts on “A Few Thoughts on Drinko de Mayo

  1. In total agreement about Cinco de Mayo and all such “holidays.” The alcohol industry is a lot like Hallmark in this regard. Forever creating need for their product where there had been none.
    Congratulations on 9 months! That particular milestone is coming up for me, too. I have come to love sobriety. Have been more “alive” for these past 9 months than I have been for years!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Exactomundo, my Dear Watson!! I worked damn hard at the end of my drinking to convince myself I was one of the lucky ones. Man, if I was the lucky one, I would have hated to see someone down on their luck. Great blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Its disheartening to read quotes like that from celebrities. The old days of the rat pack, etc make drinking seem so glamorous and exciting. That gripped me for years! I love the look of a beautiful woman holding a martini glass with olives or a glass of champagne. I aspired to look like that and identified with it growing up. Unfortunately, the reality of my drinking was me on the couch with a half gallon of vodka free pouring glass after glass. Not a glamorous sight. I had to reevaluate my image of myself and what I want for my future to separate the real me from that old image. I’ve become more at peace with who I really am. I don’t think I could have ever done that without being sober. Thank you for the share!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

