Counseling Update

I had a session with a new counselor yesterday. She and I talked at length about the history of my “mommy” issues. At the end of the hour, she asked if I thought I’d like to continue with her. I said yes – and we agreed that I could use some work on asserting myself in situations where I’m made to feel diminished. And – wonder of wonders, no urine testing was required!

On a side note, I’ve been having recurring dreams again. The theme in these dreams is that I need to pee but either there’s no door on the stall, or the toilet is in the middle of the room and someone keeps unlocking the door on me.

I searched some dream interpretation on the web, and it’s confirmed what I think my subconscious is telling me – and that some work in therapy is exactly what I need to be doing right now.

According to what I read, these dreams basically mean that there’s some stuff I need to get rid of, but that I’m feeling exposed and vulnerable.  My privacy is being invaded.

The symbolism seems pretty obvious here. I’ll be curious to see if the dreams become less frequent as I tackle these issues with this new therapist.

Leave a Reply

