Glorious Chaos

The kids all came over for dinner yesterday, to celebrate Mother’s Day. My husband had ordered specialty pizzas from my favorite place, along with these incredible, pizza oven baked, lemon-juice-and-olive-oil marinated chicken wings. Our son brought dessert and one of our sons-in-law brought two delectable salads he’d made. And homemade Gorgonzola vinaigrette. I was in food heaven!

By the time my son and his family arrived, our three year old granddaughter had fallen asleep in the car. She was carried in, snoozing contentedly, and lovingly placed in the middle of our bed and surrounded by pillows, to continue her slumber.

When she was awakened for dinner, it was discovered that she had peed on our comforter. It’s one of those big puffy ones that has to be cleaned in a commercial washing machine. I was a little unsettled, and went to determine just how much of our bed would need to be stripped and laundered. Luckily, nothing had soaked all the way through the bedspread so that was all that needed washing.

So, we sit down to dinner. Everyone’s laughing and talking and passing things at the table. My son goes to pick up one of the bowls of salad – which was heavier than he expected. The bowl slips out of his hand, and he inadvertently knocks over his bottle of beer. It goes sloshing across the table and onto his niece’s plate of food. This sweet toddler has recently been diagnosed with peanut and tree nut allergies, so her Mama prepares her food very carefully.  Into the trash her dinner went, and some homemade frozen soup had to be defrosted for her dinner instead. Much mopping up and apologizing ensued….

At the end of the evening, after everyone left, my husband and I headed up to the laundromat at about 8:30.  This was the view as we sat and chuckled  about the events of the day.

IMG_0843

And we laughed as we talked about how grateful we are that we HAVE children and grandchildren living within 20 minutes of us who can spill beer all over the dining room table and pee our bed.

I silently contemplated how differently I would have reacted to mishaps like this a couple of years ago.  Maybe not outwardly, but – I would have been SO massively annoyed, especially about being inconvenienced by the trip to the laundromat.  And no one but me would know how much I resented my “down time” (i.e., drinking time) being cut into. I was so incredibly calm and NOT stressed out.

Truly a Mother’s Day to remember.

9 thoughts on “Glorious Chaos

  1. I just had dinner and now want a specialty pizza and some Gorgonzola. Right away! I love your reflection about privately being annoying about losing your drinking time. Yep. I did that too. Tomorrow night my son has a recital at 7:15pm. I keep getting tinges of panic about it because that’s my prime drinking time. But the panic is now unnecessary and I’ll attend totally sober and feeling great about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You do rock!
    I had a similar event happen today where a few years ago it would have become a full
    Fledge fight with my husband and I totally handled it in a different way. So more mature and handling things so much better! I am a better person sober. Funny how that is! Happy Mother’s Day!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy belated Mothers Day! I’m a father trying to make it all work sober. I know about the chaos of family and try to find those bright spots in ordinary life. I call it the Miracle of the Mundane and I can be found here: http://www.markgoodson.com
    I’d like to include your blog on my site in the blog roll so new posts will show there. I hope that’s OK. Let’s journey forth together!

    Like

Leave a Reply

